Perfect Kick By Chillingo Ltd

  • November 30, 2014 6:09 am

My daughter loves playing soccer so Perfect Kick By Chillingo Ltd is a perfect fit for her. Not that it teaches much in the way of soccer skills, but that it is a fun app with a soccer theme.

Game play is interesting since you do need to swipe to the right direction and with the right amount to get the ball to do what you want it to do. The players are interesting characters and the challenge is certainly there. My 7-year-old has picked up this game many times and played for a while each time.

There are a few modes to the game, but her favorite is challenge mode. Perfect Kick By Chillingo Ltd makes some pretty fun stuff.

Any age.

Fun: 4
Attention : 4
Learning: 1
Total: 9

Turtle Invaders By Zyrobotics LLC

  • November 29, 2014 6:03 am

Turtle Invaders By Zyrobotics LLC is a fun remake of the classic invaders game. It is very similar in play to the classic without stealing any of the graphics or timing.

Turtle Invaders By Zyrobotics LLC is actually pretty hard. Your octopus can only shoot so many ink dots and knock out so many turtles. Turtle Invaders By Zyrobotics LLC is fun though. My daughter played it for quite a while and even comments in the video how hard it can be. Just hard enough to get her to keep trying. Good job.

Just about all ages, but perhaps 6-10 would find it interesting.

Fun: 3
Attention: 4
Learning: 2
Total: 9

Sunset Train 3D – top fun railroad simulator game for kids By Jeremy Horton

  • November 28, 2014 6:02 pm

Sunset Train 3D – top fun railroad simulator game for kids By Jeremy Horton is a fun nighttime app for kids. The game leads your youngster through a far-away land where they control the train!

My daughter enjoyed adjusting the speed and stopping the train for passengers. The game play doesn’t last too long, but it is just enough to be fun right before bedtime or on a long trip. Certainly worth the $2.99 price tag.

Sunset Train 3D – top fun railroad simulator game for kids By Jeremy Horton is an app to have on every device just in case your child needs another 10 minutes before bedtime to relax.

Ages 2-8 but targeted around 4 or so.

Attention : 2
Fun: 3
Learning: 2

Total 7

Clara City – Canovia Studios S.L.

  • March 11, 2013 7:19 am

Clara City – Canovia Studios S.L. is a really well drawn app that is meant to guide a child through the city safely while accomplishing tasks set by her father. Your child gets to pick which child they want to be. The oldest, middle, or youngest. I bet 99% pick the oldest!

Once you have picked your character you are off to perform tasks. The detail in Clara City – Canovia Studios S.L. guides your child on to the next step. First you are assigned tasks then you have to explore a bit.

My 6 year old loved Clara City – Canovia Studios S.L. and returned to it later in the day. She was crossing the street and performing her tasks by exploring and clicking on anything (many things move when clicked, which is neat). She was having a lot of fun.

For both the iPhone and iPad.

Learning – 2
Attention – 5
Fun – 4

Total – 11

Zombie Grammar Force By Brian West

  • March 8, 2013 6:56 am

Zombie Grammar Force – Brian West is a tool to teach kids grammar. Nouns, prepositions, adjectives, and the rest of the sentence structure is presented to the child in a way that is fun, interesting and rewarding. My 12-year-old really took to the app and was challenged by missing one of the items on the first few rounds. There were even some large words added in that she wasn’t yet familiar with – learning opportunity!

I was challenged by Zombie Grammar Force – Brian West right away. It took me a minute to remember what each word was frankly. I did well enough and had a bit of fun too.

Zombie Grammar Force – Brian West is a fun way to remind/teach/reinforce your child of some basic grammar topics. Choosing which pirate they want to be and gaining access to larger canons is just another bit of fun added in. Your child isn’t likely to spend hours with Zombie Grammar Force – Brian West, but will spend enough time to get the point. This is probably 10 minutes each time you remind them to pick up the app. Kids are smart. They know when they are learning something. Zombie Grammar Force – Brian West does a good job of shielding this, but the results wont be hours of fun, but perhaps many minutes!

Fun – 3
Attention – 3
Learning – 4

Total – 10

A Troop is a Group of Monkeys By Little Bahalia Publishing

  • March 7, 2013 7:51 am

A Troop is a Group of Monkeys – Little Bahalia Publishing is a fun and interesting book. The typical book features are there. You can have the book read to your child or read it yourself, the words being read are displayed at the bottom of the page, but are not highlighted. The topics in the book are what are impressive.

A Troop is a Group of Monkeys – Little Bahalia Publishing takes your child through sixteen different animals and the term that defines a group of those animals. It is a simple concept, but when added with the teaching tips there is a real chance for some learning in this simple book.

A Troop is a Group of Monkeys – Little Bahalia Publishing adds in the idea of memorization, reading, and simple identification to an illustrated book. The characters move, and the narration is well done. A Troop is a Group of Monkeys – Little Bahalia Publishing is an app that your child can pick up and start reading within a minute. That is ideal for the most basic learning experience, but when you sit with your child and experience A Troop is a Group of Monkeys – Little Bahalia Publishing with them, the book takes on a while new potential.

Attention – 4
Learning – 4
Fun – 3

Total – 11

iPad only.

Cookid Teaching Jar By Juan Pedro Lozano

  • March 6, 2013 7:04 am

Cookid Teaching Jar – Juan Pedro Lozano is a great app for kids to learn reading, hand-eye coordination, matching, counting, and new animals at the same time. Oh. And my 6 year-old thinks it is fun!

I wasn’t so sure when I first started to play Cookid Teaching Jar – Juan Pedro Lozano. Yes I play each app before reviewing it of course – part of the fun! I wasn’t sure if Cookid Teaching Jar – Juan Pedro Lozano was a good app because I couldn’t seem to figure out how to get to the next level or “oven.” Turns out it is easy. I was just being a dumb dad.

Cookid Teaching Jar – Juan Pedro Lozano has three languages. Espanol, French, and English. Since I only speak and read English fluently, that is the language I chose, but I can see the other languages as great learning tools for an non-English speaker or if you wanted your child to learn some Spanish or French animals.

Cookid Teaching Jar – Juan Pedro Lozano is fun, educational, and rewarding. After the video my daughter insisted on playing with the app as she went to bed. Those cookies, the swiping, pinching, and pulling make for a challenge that should last a long while.

Attention – 5
Fun – 4
Learning – 4

Total – 13

iPad only.

Toddler Time! for iPad By Picoman Games

  • March 4, 2013 6:23 am

Toddler Time! for iPad – Picoman Games is a great app for your younger child to learn shapes, letters, numbers, and other objects. Toddler Time! for iPad – Picoman Games provides 80+ different objects to name and hear spoke aloud. A simple concept for learning that is certain to reinforce or teach some new object names.

Even with my 6 year old (this app is probably best suited for 2-4 years in my opinion) there were some objects we didn’t expect. Check out the video we made of Toddler Time! for iPad – Picoman Games and see what I believe is playdoh. Either way Toddler Time! for iPad – Picoman Games is a great app, very simple, some fun, lots of learning potential, and certain to keep your little one’s attention for a reasonable amount of time.

Fun – 3
Learning – 5
Attention – 5

Total – 13

Lazy Bird by Tatyana Mironova

  • March 1, 2013 6:42 am

Lazy Bird – Tatyana Mironova is a fun book with all the usual features PLUS record your own voice.

Not only does Lazy Bird – Tatyana Mironova allow you to read a book, have it read to you, and record your own voice!, but you can also click the characters and watch them move. We really like that.

Lazy Bird – Tatyana Mironova is a fun story that kept my 6 year old interested the entire duration. I even recorded my voice for several of the pages, which was really neat to do. The book is well written and narrated by a young girl which is cool too. The interactivity makes it that much better.

Lazy Bird – Tatyana Mironova is available for the iPad and iPhone. I linked to the iPad version below because we obviously review both iPhone and iPad apps at kidsiPhoneAppReview.com. I believe it is a universal app.

Learning – 4
Attention – 3
Fun – 5

Total – 12

Zuko Monsters By Goodbeans GmbH

  • February 28, 2013 6:07 am

Zuko Monsters – Goodbeans GmbH isn’t really a learning app at all, but rather a fun pokemon type role playing game. The story is well drawn and the game is sufficiently challenging for children 6 years and older.

The basic idea of Zuko Monsters – Goodbeans GmbH is that you are given the chance to fight the monsters who are the bad guys. You get to fight and capture using various little monsters who you need to keep healthy and grow their skills and abilities. You have certain tasks you need to accomplish and levels that you can pass.

Zuko Monsters – Goodbeans GmbH also includes a local challenge and gamecenter battle which is cool.

The fun is in the challenges and the quest. My six year old thinks the game is awesome as does my 12 year old. Fun? Yep? What do they learn? Some money management, some math, and some critical thinking.

The only caution I would give parents is there is the ability to buy credits in this app. Up to $99 at a time! Be sure to immediately require a passcode for in app purchases within your iOS device to be safe.

Fun – 5
Learning – 3
Attention – 5

Total – 13